California’s Low Cost Automobile Insurance Program

The State of California has developed this program to provide income eligible, good drivers with access to affordable automobile liability insurance. The policies are issued by California licensed insurance companies. California state law provides that a California Low Cost Automobile Insurance policy satisfies financial responsibility laws.

California’s Low Cost Automobile Insurance Program

Publication Series

Download PDF

No Download Available

Availability

  • Web Version Only

Languages Available

Click here to download/view the 2017 Rack Card.

California law requires all drivers to have auto insurance.
If you drive without insurance you could:

  • Have your vehicle registration suspended.
  • Have your license suspended.
  • Have your car impounded.
  • Be fined.

Are you driving without insurance because you can’t afford the rates?

The State of California has developed a program to help income eligible good drivers get low cost automobile insurance for under $556 a year (liability only).

Policies are issued by California licensed insurance companies. California’s Low Cost Automobile Insurance policies satisfy the state’s liability insurance requirement.

You may qualify for California’s Low Cost Automobile Insurance Program if you:

  • Have a valid California driver's license.
  • Own a vehicle that is valued at $25,000 or less.
  • Meet income eligibility requirements.
  • Are at least 19 years of age.

There are two payment plans available:

  • Full annual premium.
  • Or, 20% deposit with balance to be paid in seven bi-monthly installments. (For each installment payment there will be a $4 transaction fee.)

Basic Liability Policy limits are: **

  • $10,000 bodily injury or death per person
  • $20,000 bodily injury or death per accident
  • $3,000 property damage liability per accident
** Additional direct benefit coverage is available for an additional charge.

Income Eligibility (Rev 2017)

HOUSEHOLD SIZE MAXIMUM INCOME
1 PERSON $30,150
2 PEOPLE $40,600
3 PEOPLE $51,050
4 PEOPLE $61,500
5 PERSON $71,950
6 PEOPLE $82,400
7 PEOPLE $92,850
8 PEOPLE $103,300
  • Eligibility is based on the household’s gross annual income, which must be 250% or less of the federal poverty level.
  • For Low Cost Automobile (LCA) Insurance Program income eligibility purposes, “Household” means all the persons who occupy a housing unit (house or apartment) and who are related by blood, marriage, registered domestic partnership, adoption, or guardianship. If more than one family is living in the same housing unit, they constitute different families for eligibility purposes even though they reside at the same address.

If you qualify, here are the items you'll need to enroll:

  1. A valid driver's license
  2. Current vehicle registration
  3. The initial premium deposit
  4. Proof of income--you just need to provide ONE of the following documents:
    a. A copy of the applicant’s federal or state income tax return for the last year
    b. A 1099 Form
    c. A W-2 Form
    d. A payroll stub
    e. A Medi-Cal card
    f. An employer verification letter
    g. A Social Security or pension letter
    h. A utility company Lifeline verification
    i. CalFresh EBT Card
    j. CalWorks notification letter
    k. EDD Debit card or letter

County Premiums

Effective 2017, the annual premium for the California counties are shown in the chart below.

The base rate is for most drivers with three years of good driving history.
There is a 25% surcharge if the driver is a single male 19-24 years old.
There is a 30% surcharge if the driver has less than three years of verifiable driving history.

The maximum surcharge on any CLCA policy is 30%.

County of Residence Base Rate 25% surcharge 30% surcharge
Alameda $322 $403 $419
Alpine $259 $324 $337
Amador $259 $324 $337
Butte $275 $344 $358
Calaveras $259 $324 $337
Colusa $275 $344 $358
Contra Costa $322 $403 $419
Del Norte $275 $344 $358
El Dorado $259 $324 $337
Fresno $252 $315 $328
Glenn $275 $344 $358
Humboldt $275 $344 $358
Imperial $259 $324 $337
Inyo $259 $324 $337
Kern $259 $324 $337
Kings $252 $315 $328
Lake $275 $344 $358
Lassen $275 $344 $358
Los Angeles $470 $588 $611
Madera $252 $315 $328
Marin $322 $403 $419
Mariposa $259 $324 $337
Mendocino $275 $344 $358
Merced $252 $315 $328
Modoc $275 $344 $358
Mono $259 $324 $337
Monterey $252 $315 $328
Napa $275 $344 $358
Nevada $259 $324 $337
Orange $470 $588 $611
Placer $259 $324 $337
Plumas $275 $344 $358
Riverside $259 $324 $337
Sacramento $322 $403 $419
San Benito $252 $315 $328
San Bernardino $259 $324 $337
San Diego $259 $324 $337
San Francisco $322 $403 $419
San Joaquin $322 $403 $419
San Luis Obispo $252 $315 $328
San Mateo $322 $403 $419
Santa Barbara $252 $315 $328
Santa Clara $322 $403 $419
Santa Cruz $252 $315 $328
Shasta $275 $344 $358
Sierra $259 $324 $337
Siskiyou $275 $344 $358
Solano $275 $344 $358
Sonoma $275 $344 $358
Stanislaus $322 $403 $419
Sutter $322 $403 $419
Tehama $275 $344 $358
Trinity $275 $344 $358
Tulare $252 $315 $328
Tuolumne $259 $324 $337
Ventura $259 $324 $337
Yolo $275 $344 $358
Yuba $259 $324 $337
Call Today!
1-866-602-8861
mylowcostauto.com

The State of California’s Low Cost Automobile Insurance Program is brought to you by the California Department of Insurance and administered by the California Automobile Assigned Risk Plan.

Published / Reviewed Date

Published: April 24, 2017

Download PDF

No Download Available

Sponsors

Filed Under

Automobiles   ♦   Insurance   ♦  

Copyright

© 2008 –2017 California Department of Insurance. Rights Reserved.

 

Tags/Keywords

insurance, cars, autos, automobiles, low income


 
 
 

Quick Menu

Support Consumer Action

Support Consumer
Facebook FTwitter T

Consumer Help Desk

Advocacy